Chester B&B
recorder guest house chester
hotel booking
traditional chester b&b
guest house


HOME
360 VIRTUAL TOUR
HOTEL PICTURES
HOTEL ROOM PICTURES
BREAKFAST
TARIFF
SECURE BOOKINGS
CONTACT US
HOW TO FIND US
LINKS
ACCESS STATEMENT
TERMS AND CONDITIONS



Reviews

Guest Reviews

Our Recent Stay
We stayed at Recorder House for the first time on Sunday and Monday. It was a lovely stay with really nice and friendly owners. Our room was fantastic. Breakfast was also good. We will definitely book again.

Diane Husband - 16th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

A Wonderful Short Break
What a wonderful hotel.Perfect location,easy walking distance to all attractions.Book a room with a river view if you can,it was so peaceful to just sit and watch from our room.Staff were friendly and the breakfast menu was more extensive than a normal b+b.
This was a retirement treat for my husband and he was absolutely thrilled with the four poster bed in our room.
Overall our short break was faultless.
Many thanks

Patricia Pitcher - 10th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Recorder House Chester
This is one of the most friendly comfortable places we have stayed for many a year. The facilities were excellent the accommodation very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the host were second to none. Look forward to a return booking. Thanks for a wonderful memory.

Kate Sheppard - 9th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Thumbs Up!
Room was small but clean and tidy and after all you only sleep there. Bed was comfortable. For our last night we were asked if we would like to move to a bigger room and we said yes. Wow!! Nice room overlooking the River Dee and a big old 4 poster bed. Great breakfasts (full English is wonderful) with a wide choice and plenty of it. Great location and plenty to see in not only Chester but North Wales (Llangollen only 45 minutes away) and Liverpool (30 minutes by train). Only little moan is that the floors are a bit creaky but so am I and the house is a lot older than me! Would certainly go back again. Final note...the owners are fantastic and very helpful.

Michael Green - 7th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Accommodation was situation in a perfect location for everything. Steping straight out onto the wall if you wanted to walk with only a very short walk along the wall to the pedestrianized shopping area. Over looking the river Dee was peaceful. Rooms comfortable, staff helpful and polite. Breakfast was very good.
My only criticism would be the shower in my room, the water was more of a trickle and needed to be more powerful. Other than that I would definitely stay there again and already considering taking my daughter along for a shopping day

Karen Holtham - 5th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Enjoying Chester
A most enjoyable combination for a charming hotel. Plenty of character in an interesting quirky building; nice views from the bay window along the river well worth the premium rate; location inside the City walls with free parking.

Mr. Ken Davie - 1st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Great Weekend !!
Excellent hotel, very user friendly, first class and high quality breakfast, comfortable beds and first class hosts.

Peter Seward - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Recorder
Had a great stay at the recorder right on the river Dee great location 5 mins walk from all the shops / bars and restaurant.s James and his wife were very friendly Great breakfast would defenetly be returning

Robert Mcgreal - 31st Mar, 2014
Verified Review

One Night In Chester
it took us nearly an hour to find the Recorder House, due partly to an incorrect address on their letterhead! we managed to squeeze into a reserved car parking space, found that we'd been up-graded to a bedroom with a comfortable four-poster bed, and went off to find dinner somewhere locally. The CROSS KEYS pub, just round the corner, was great, with live Irish band music all night!!(try to be there on a Wednesday night)
the morning breakfast was truly excellent, and promptly served, and we had a restful night's stay.

Robert Burgess - 28th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
We dont understand this criticism as we do not have a 'letterhead' and if we did we should certainly not put an incorrect address on it. However we do greatly appreciate the comments regarding your stay with us.

Best B&b In Chester
We had a bit of trouble homing in on Recorder house, but after three phone calls and a bit, well more than a bit, of driving around we arrived and James helped us into the house. We were upgraded to a sumptuous river-view room and enjoyed two nights and one spectacular breakfast.
Of perhaps fifty B&B we've enjoyed in the UK, Recorder House has to be the tops!

Betsy Washburne - 27th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Revisit
We stayed at Chester Recorder House a few years ago following a colleagues recommendation. We were not disappointed. When we decided to revisit Chester, there was only one place to stay. Wonderful room, service impeccable, great location for shops, bars and restaurants. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Jill Forster - 25th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Winter Break
Enjoyed three nights at Recorder House. Good accommodation and brilliant Breakfast. The owners very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Would certainly stay again if we are in the area.

Michael Smith - 24th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Excellent weekend break staying at homely Recorder House. Ideal position to see Chester, very warm welcome. The room was very tidy, clean and everything we needed for two night stay.
Breakfast was plentiful, good choice.
Would definately stay again when visiting Chester and surrounding area.

Stephen Siddle - 24th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Thank You.
Thanks James for a wonderful stay at your hotel. All the best for the future. To anyone wishing to stay here, do it and enjoy.

Paul Hemsley - 15th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Visit
Really enjoyed our stay at The Recorder House. What a great location on the medieval walls, and on the River Dee! Our room was charming, and breakfast was delicious. Just what we were hoping for. Thanks for a great weekend visit to a most interesting town.

Mrs. Sally Kearney - 3rd Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Our Weekend Retreat.
It was a treat, the guest house offered and provided all our requirements. Comfort, warm welcome, excellent service, last but certainly not least a wonderful breakfast with so much choice. First class looking forward to our next visit.

Henry Goodger - 24th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Review
It was all exceptionally pleasant. Good bed, pretty bedroom, hot water, delicious b/fast and loads of nice decor in keeping with the house. A perfect place to stay to see Chester from.

Belinda Shand - 23rd Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Pleasant Stay
I did sleep like a baby in a very confortable bed with a beautiful view on the river.. I was worried to be cold as the windows looks old, but actually did not feel cold at all... The English Breakfast was nicely cooked and Landlord was very warm from the arrival til departure...

Mr. Guillaume Fort - 12th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Place
We stayed at Recorder House for two nights, in the Libra room. The room was lovely and the bed so comfy, we had two great nights sleep. The owners are lovely and very welcoming. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had, lovely. The house is in a lovely situation near the river Dee. Will definitely stay there again. Thank you Deb Wood xxx

Mr. David Wood - 20th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Great Location
A lovely guest house, full of character and in a fantastic location for a Chester city break.
Private parking at the rear is included, and it's out of sight of the public if you're concerned about your motor. Very safe.
Perfect hosts, friendly without being overbearing.
If we come to Chester again, I'm sure that this is where we'll be staying.

Mr. Phil Walsh - 27th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful
We stayed here for 2 nights in September and in our 17 days of visiting England this accommodation was the best...great parking,very helpful and congenial hosts,delicious breakfasts,with the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt among other choices, the superb location overlooking the river and right on the wall,5 mins walk from the main town. Also all the little things like the coffee and tea assortment in the rooms, biscuits, chocolates and plenty of ice cubes, and very comfortable beds. Our room overlooked the back patio and was a smaller room, but extremely comfortable and nicely appointed. We would certainly stay here again and will tell any friends visiting this part of England.

Mrs. Dianne Macdonald - 21st Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Recorder House - Amazing
This is an amazing place to stay. Rooms are lovely and have some great little touches. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their breakfasts set you up for a full days sightseeing, would definitely stay here again

Mr. Stewart Rounce - 19th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Place
Had a very comfortable and pleasant stay here. Really helpful, welcoming and friendly owners.

Mrs. Susan Justice - 8th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

New To Chester
Great place to stay in Chester....parked the car and never used it for 3 days as we could walk direct into Cheater....the room was superb overlooking the river...bed was great with goose feathers/duck down duvet..best sleep we've had for ages....made very welcome from arrival....caring but not "in your face".....enjoyed breakfast everyday.....the chef came ot everyday to make sure all ok......we'll go to Chester again but will make sure we stay at Recorder House

Mr. Eric Roome - 7th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent!
Great location on the wall facing the weir of the River Dee at the edge of town ensuring peace and tranquility yet literally 2 minutes walk to the city's shops. Breakfast also had more than the usual offerings. Pat and Jim were kind enough to give us a book as a present on our departure.

Mr. Halim Ahmad - 2nd Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Girls Weekend!
I have stayed at Recorder House several times with my husband but this weekend was a girls do! We had a superb time and the hospitality was second to none, as usual. Lovely rooms and fabulous breakfasts. My favourite place to stay in Chester.

Mrs. Linda Hughes - 22nd Sep, 2013
Verified Review

First Visit Of Chester
Recorder House is ideally situated within the city walls and proved to be an excellent base for our visit. James and his team were very friendly and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Clean comfortable rooms and a very good freshly cooked breakfast - what more could you ask for.

Mr. Michael Townson - 16th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Charming & Delightful
We stayed at the Recorder House for 2 nights just after the August bank holiday weekend. My wife and I stayed in the Capricorn room (we requested this on booking) and it was beautiful, quirky and in a style we love, everything we had hoped it would be.

The owners and staff are amongst the friendliest we have encountered and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms were cleaned each day with fresh towels provided for us daily.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we ever went back to Chester. Its clean, quiet, comfortable and friendly, what more could you ask for.

Mr. Gary Crompton - 1st Sep, 2013
Verified Review

A Lovely Spot
We loved the room- Virgo- particularly the view over the river and the seating area within the bay windows. Bed was comfortable if a little 'clanky' when getting in/out etc. Bathroom was smart with good shower but the toilet seat had been missed at the back during cleaning which was off putting on arrival.All other aspects throughout were spotless so an unfortunate slip up.
Breakfast was faultless- more than enough and lovely and tasty/good quality and hot.
Service was fab- very friendly and approachable owners and staff.
Location was undoubtedly the most favorable thing. Lovely quiet spot by river but had private parking and was still very central for pubs shops and eateries.
On the whole highly recommended.

Mrs. Jacqui Alexander - 21st Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
I chose to stay here because of the previous reviews I had read, and I was not disappointed.
On arrival we were offered the front 4-poster bedroom overlooking the river. The traditional furniture is perfectly in-keeping with the age of the building, but an updated ensuite shower room amd flat-screen tv on the wall were also welcome.It was very hot so the windows were open.The noise of the weir might disturb some people, but we slept soundly as we had spent the day walking around this delightful, historic city, including the 2 mile round trip on the Walls. We had a very good breakfast and the owners obviously enjoy running their b and b.

Mrs. Karen Lane - 19th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

August Stay
A pleasant stay in a comfortable room with character. Splendid views of the river.

Mr. Ian Etchells - 17th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Beautiful Two Night Break
this is our second stay at recorder house, great location, lovely rooms and breakfasts made fresh and tasty with a lovely selection.lovely warm welcome on arrival. Definatly highly recommend

Mrs. Debbie Tupman - 14th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Beautiful Chester
A 1700 terrace house build on the walls of the City of Chester with views over the River Dee. Central for the city with all its history. One of the best B&B's in the county

Mr. David Williamson - 13th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful Weekend
We have just stayed at Chester Recorder House for 3 nights, the room was clean and comfortable, had everything one needed and the breakfasts were superb - plenty of choice. We have been staying at the Recorder house every year for the past eight years or so and would recommend it without hesitation.

Mrs. Sheila Hodgkinson - 6th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Stay At Recorder
We had a lovely stay at The Recorder House yet again. The owners/staff are friendly and welcoming as well as helpful. The breakfasts are delicious with several options to choose from to suit all tastes. Our room overlooked the river Dee this time and was clean and comfortable. The Recorder House offers good value and is ideally situated actually on the city wall near the groves where there is a restaurant and pub/cafe within walking distance. It is a nice walk into Chester city centre which has lots of history and several designer shops, so it's great for shopping.
I would recommend the Recorder house and definitely go back again.

Mr. Graham Gibbs - 27th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Dee Dah
The Chester Recorder House is rune by lovely, friendly, helpful people. It is clean and extremely comfortable with first rate food.

Mr. Richard Douglass - 17th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Little Gem!
Perfect location for town & river. No need to drive anywhere. We had a room at the rear which was very quiet even on Saturday night. Lovely courtyard and lounge for visitors & fab breakfast. Will use whenever we visit Chester.

Mrs. Cheryl Bragger - 9th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Gem Of A Hotel
Just love this hotel. Stopped here numerous times on my own on business and with my wife on leisure breaks. This hotel is so nicely positioned and presented it really is a credit to the proprietors. You will struggle to find a better place for the same money and the breakfast is really nice too.

Mr. Graham Scrogham - 4th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Recorder House Stay
I have to say my stay at the Recorder House was a most enjoyable experience. Ideally located by the river and within easy walking distance of the town centre. The breakfast was fantastic and the room we stayed was spotlessly clean with a great view. We would definitely recommend the Recorder house to our friends and family.

Mr. Philip Briggs - 1st Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful
We spent four lovely nights at the Recorder House. The room was very clean with a great view of the river. Fresh milk to make a cup of tea was much appreciated, as was gluten free provision at breakfast. The location is fantastic - in the walls and with private parking. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Miss. Katherine Stansfield - 30th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Recorder House
Lovely B&B at a great location, overlooking the river. Room was pleasant, breakfast very nice. Staff very accommodating. Once we found where the parking was (a little tricky) it was great to be able to park and just walk around a very picturesque and historically interesting city. A great experience.

Mrs. Marika Hare - 27th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Beautiful!
Has to be one of the best located Guest Houses in the town with lovely bedrooms. Always spend our last night here before returning home to RI and never disappointed. And no worries about the car- Lovely hosts, thanks again

Mr. Roger King - 21st Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Day At The Races
Just back from a wonderful 2 night stay for Chester Races at the Chester Recorder House. Great location on the city walls over-looking the river and just a short stroll into town. Very comfortable rooms and a free upgrade to a river view room. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us advise on where to eat and drink in Chester. The breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit salad, cereals and a perfectly cooked full english with the best poached eggs, all really well presented and with very attentive service. Had a lovely stay and would definitely come again.

Mrs. Sarah Hallam - 10th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Less Of A Break, More Of A Holiday
We were only here for 2 nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly.The hospitality tray was well stocked, and having a mini fridge outside the door with bottles of water and fresh milk was lovely. The bed was comfortable and I loved the sofa to stretch out on after sightseeing. We were told of various places to eat/drink nearby, and the Church is worth seeking out. The breakfasts set us up for the day. When we return to Chester we hope to come here again.

Mrs. Louise Smith - 6th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

To The Wall!
Great setting on the city wall of an historic city. Pleasant and helpful folk operate a comfortable B&B. They were very helpful when streets were closed because of a race. We've stayed there before and hope to again.

Dr. Lester Wright - 3rd Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Great Accomodation
Great stay again at Recorder House. Ideally situated for city centre and racecourse. Great rooms, breakfast and hospitality. Look forward to staying here again.

Mr. Steven Leeke - 28th May, 2013
Verified Review

Memorable Stay
Our stay at The Recorder House was truly lovely. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by James and advised that our room had been upgraded to a large king with beautiful amenities and a bay window overlooking the river. We received helpful sightseeing from the hospitable hosts, FABULOUS breakfasts and were made to feel very welcome. HIGHLY recommend the Recorder House.

Mrs. Donna Bergerud - 28th May, 2013
Verified Review

Beautiful Chester
Very pleasant stay. Arrived early & greeted warmly & shown where to park ( no problem ).
Immediately offered an upgraded room at no extra cost ( with river view ).
Two nights stay with four poster bed, warmth, good hot water pressure & exceptional breakfast of fresh fruit, stewed fruit, toast & poached eggs & black pudding - perfection.
Would highly recommend this B & B to anyone.

Mr. Stuart Foster - 25th May, 2013
Verified Review

Idylic Setting
i have been here at the Recorder three times now, I find it very relaxing, and the staff are very accomodating. As we like to be near the River and the lovely Restaurants, the location is ideal... As a single traveller, like everywhere, its more costly. Will go agian with my other Friend next time.

Mrs. Janet Speariett - 18th May, 2013
Verified Review

A Great Place To Stay
We highly recommend Chester Recorder House. The location is superb, our room was very nice, with a view of the Dee River, and the breakfasts were outstanding (made to order). The courtesy and helpfulness of the staff was a big plus.

Dr. Wynn Rickey - 17th May, 2013
Verified Review

Loved It!!!!
We absolutely loved staying at the Chester Recorder House. It is right on the river with spectacular views, cute as can be rooms and a very tasty breakfast! Would go back again!!!!!

Mr. Rob Damazio - 17th May, 2013
Verified Review

Our Chester Visit
A very pleasant stay in every respect with a super breakfast cooked for you- the best scrambled eggs and bacon in town of that I am certain . Also a great location for day visits, by rail, to Liverpool. Well done Team Recorder House. -
The Cox Party

Mr. William Cox - 9th May, 2013
Verified Review

Warm And Friendly
The owners are very warm and friendly. We were giving good advice about where to dine. Breakfast was tasteful, for an English breakfast it was more subtle/fine than we are used to. The breakfast-room is a very lovely place to start your day. I heard other visitors say they had a good room, ours however was a bit small, with low ceilings. We felt ourselfs a bit too huge for our room. But I think the rooms on the river side are more comfortable. Rooms and bathroom very clean. Good location to visit Chester.

Mrs. Renee Peeters - 7th May, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect!
Lovely setting, great breakfast,

Mr. Eugene De Cova - 2nd May, 2013
Verified Review

Recorder House
Beatiful place with excellent service and friendship. Hardly ever we have felt so welcome :). Highly recommended.

Mr. Petri Paasikunnas - 15th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

No Titel
Great as usual. Nothing more to say :)

Mr. Axel Rohrschneider - 15th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Weekend Away
Recorder house is in a perfect location, we received a warm welcome and found our room to be comfortable and warm. We stayed in Libra which unfortunately did not have a bath, but it is a nice room. Breakfast was nice enough but not outstanding. The house does look a little tired in places, an we felt that is was slightly overpriced but all in all we had a pleasant enough stay.

Mrs. Claire Boon - 8th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Recorder House
Another lovely stay in Chester - felt thoroughly looked after, thank you.

Miss. Abigail Johns - 8th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

B&b Chester Review
Excellent location and helpful host. Food was very good On site parking excellent. Would stay again and would recommend to others. Quiet at night! Good pubs in easy walking as well as many places to eat. Thanks for a great stay.

Mrs. Mary Taylor - 6th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Return Visit
This is our 3rd
visit to Chester and Recorder House. We would not stay anywhere else. Great B and B in a perfect position with parking. Rooms are beautiful and the breakfasts brilliant. Will be returning again in July .

Mrs. Stella Dixon - 5th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Always The One!
Gr8 location, lovely people

Mr. Roger King - 19th Mar, 2013
Verified Review

A Touch Of Class
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble.The standard of the room was excellent, only surpassed by the quality of the breakfast.All this made for a very enjoyable stay.

Mr. Geoff Whittaker - 11th Mar, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely B&b To Stay At
We were 2 couples for a 3-night stay at the Recorder House. Lovely, welcoming staff. Well-located (8-10 min from city centre), great choice for breakfast. We were give good advice by James. The rooms were clean, spacious and calm. Would recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Chester.

Thank you again.

Mr. Bastien Giroud - 18th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
First time stay at this beautifully appointed hotel. Excellent service from arrival to departure. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts, very varied choices and well presented. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Nice touch having a fridge whth fresh milk and bottled water on the landing. Will definately return. Thanks Jim and staff you are doing a grand job !

Mrs. Linda Szymichowski - 16th Dec, 2012
Verified Review

A Well Liked B&b
Our intention was to have a winter 'change of scenery'. We live in a thinly populated area, so any city is a change for us. We enjoy an interest in history, and so Chester proved an ideal choice for us. Recorder House is situated in a beautiful and interesting spot in an interesting city. The house is full of character and the staff most welcoming and helpful. The Rows are a pleasant place to browse and shop, with such a good selection of shops, large and small. The 'arriving by train' discount is something we approve of for several reasons.

Mr. John Meaford - 14th Dec, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect
What a lovely find. Great location our room was a good size and really lovely. Everything we needed was there. Will definately return . Breakfast was really tasty too.

Mrs. Sandra Marshall - 11th Dec, 2012
Verified Review

Our Stay
The advert for Recorder house was very appealing.We were greeted appropriately and shown to our room.The room was comfortable and the view over the river was very good.I would say though that the room needed some refurbishing and was a little shoddy.The bathroom was adequate but again needed some refurbishing.The towels were lovely and the bed was comfy.Breakfast was very nice and the staff friendly.Unfortunately my Husband slipped down three steps as we were leaving to go into town on the Saturday morning.The steps had been freshly painted and had some gripper tape missing.My Husband went in to tell them and when we returned later that day some fresh gripper tape had been added to the steps.This was good as we were worried someone else could fall as the steps were steep and slippy.However the fall did somewhat spoil our day as my Husband was hurt and is still feeling the affects.It was a shame no-one asked how he was when we went down for breakfast the next morning.I would say that although we had a decent stay which was quite comfortable that the room was a little over-priced.

Mrs. Elizabeth Whatmough - 19th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Romantic Break
We had a wonderful short break at the Recorder House. The hotel is very quirky as it is an old house, this only added to the special time we had there. We stayed in the Virgo room. The bed was massive, the bathroom excellent, the view magnificent and the location was close to the centre for ease of shopping and eating.
We were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
We intend to visit again as it was just perfect.

Mr. Jeff Kirby - 15th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Birthday Treat
A superb Hotel in a great location. Our room was full of character, huge four-poster lovely en-suite and excellent views of the river. Breakfast set us up for a days shopping and we look forward to returning soon.

Mr. Thomas Hughes - 13th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Last Weekend
Perfect, friendly stay - as always

Mr. James Greenhalgh - 13th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

My Stay At The Recorder House
Lovely quiet B&B. Spacious bedroom with a small but well equipped bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and very filling! I would recommend The Recorder House to anyone who wants a peaceful stay in the heart of Chester. Chester is a beautiful place with lots to see and do.

Ms. Jenny Rice - 5th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Cosy, Comfortable And Welcoming
Four middle-aged women reminiscing about our Chester schooldays spent a comfortable weekend at the Recorder House Hotel. The twin rooms each had a large and comfortable double bed and a cosy single bed built into an alcove. We all slept very well, whatever the size of bed we chose!
The welcome was warm; we really appreciated the shared guest fridge containing 'real' milk for the in-room beverages and bottles of cooled water. We also cooled our own wine there.
Breakfasts were prompt, courteously served and delicious. We were given excellent recommendations for places to eat and places of interest,
I'm already planning my next visit.

Mrs. Kathryn Wright - 5th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect B&b
We had a lovely time at the recorder, lovely room,beautiful view. We always look for a b&b with parking and this is lovely as its so close to the city centre. Excellent hosts so friendly everything you need in a b&b.

Mrs. Kaye Woodward - 5th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Hallow'een 2012
First ever visit to superb Chester.
Room was lovely (and also warm - as was the welcome) with great views over the Dee, and bed was very comfy too. Breakfasts very good. Some guests a bit noisy late at night but not fault of the hotel.

Mr. Steve White - 3rd Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely B&b
Lovely B&B, situated in a lovely spot over looking river Dee. Very friendly owners and staff, rooms are outstanding with lovely views. Would highly recommend. Will be staying here again.

Mrs. Denise Jones - 23rd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Another Great Weekend Away
This is the third time that we have visited Recorder House and it is always a pleasure to return.

The staff do an excellent job to make you feel very welcome

The location is second to none nestled in the walls overlooking the Dee but only a five minute walk from the town.

The rooms are gorgeous and in keeping with the age of the property. On this occasion we stayed in Virgo which is one of the four poster rooms and had been recently
decorated. The newly fitted bathroom would not look out of place in a boutique hotel.

Breakfast as usual was fabulous with all locally sourced produce freshly cooked to order.

This is a hotel that we will return to in the future. The staff are friendly helpful and accommodating.

Thanks for a fabulous stay

Mr. Mark Lawrence - 23rd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent In Every Way
A beautiful hotel, with quirky, pretty bedrooms, a superb breakfast and excellent customer service. We booked a river view room and were contacted prior to our stay to let us know of some work being carried out to the front of the property with scaffolding. Not only were we offered an upgrade, but also a discount. On arrival, there was a problem with the upgraded room, so we were given another beautiful room, with a further discount. The rooms are not huge, but are very quaint with unique features and immaculately clean. Other touches include nice toiletries, fruit teas as well as the usual and fresh milk and bottled water provided. The owner could not have done more to help and it was absolutely appreciated. I had looked at all the usual booking websites and had almost lost hope of finding somewhere in Chester, that was unlike the big hotels with 'same old same old' rooms. This absolutely fitted the bill and was extremely good value for money as it included off road parking and a lovely breakfast with excellent choice of both continental and cooked options. We were also given a great choice of restaurants, cafes and wine bars by the owner, Jim. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend to others.

Miss. Kay Johnson - 22nd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Location
excellent location to see Chester City and sites and the accommodation was good and the hospitality excellent. The landlady kindly gave us an early breakfast for ouir early start in the Chester Marathon

Mr. Davepettifer Pettifer - 15th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

As Always
Good service as always, nice old fashioned guest house. Famous location at the city wall and river Dee.

Mr. Axel Rohrschneider - 14th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
Very enjoyable stay, friendly welcome, clean rooms, good location.

Mr. John Hogg - 14th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful
This B&B is so nice location, you can see beautiful river! and very convenience. Breakfast is so delicious, owner are so kind, we were very comfortable with them. I really recommend this B&B. this is couldn't be better!!!

Ms. Yoko Harafuji - 12th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Place To Stay
Very pleased with our stay at the Chester Recorder House. Our room was lovely, bed very comfortable and it was nice being able to get fresh milk for our early morning cuppa! Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The location was ideal, right on the city walls - we were going to a wedding on the Saturday so it was only a ten minute walk to the venue at the Town Hall. We will definitely stay here again as we are determined to come back and explore more of lovely Chester

Mrs. Judith Hill - 11th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Very Nice B&b!
Thanks you for a very warm welcome and hospitable stay. Perfect location, lovely breakfast and a cosy room with very comfortable bed. I wasn't at the front, but still had a river view. The free WiFi was the icing on the cake, and a massively appreciated. I would certainly stay again.

Mr. Barry Valder - 9th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Beautiful View
I choose this hotel for my mother and her friends who don't speak much English. They were very happy about the hotel, especially the river view in front of the hotel and breakfast.

Mrs. Yuuko Katou - 7th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Booked Chester Recorder House after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. Room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the river and it was really handy to step out of the front door straight onto the city walls. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. No hesitation in recommending this as a lovely place to stay in Chester.

Mrs. Jan Brown - 24th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Very Pleasant
Lovely quirky place to stay with an excellent breakfast and lovely hosts, couldnt have asked for a better view from the bedroom overlooking the river.

Mrs. Lynn Smalley - 23rd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent B&b
After a long overseas flight, we arrived at the Chester Recorder House and was warmly greeted. We here happy for the off-street parking and the amazingly romantic room with a river-view. The breakfasts ware delicious and the hosts delightful. Would recommend this B&B without hesitation.

Mrs. Lise Tugwood - 23rd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Welcome Break
It was wonderful to return to the Recorder House Hotel and stay in the same room we had a year before. The location is perfect and the view of the river is wonderful. We were again made to feel really welcome. Breakfasts were superb and set us up for a great day in Chester. Highly recommended. We cannot weait to return.

Mr. Stephen Haines - 19th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

My Favourite Place!
I have stayed at this hotel several times, both alone and with my partner. They have never let us down. All rooms have a home-from-home feel. Beds are so comfortable - best nights' sleep ever! If you have a room overlooking the river, this is a superb bonus, with the sound of the weir creating a soothing background. I absolutely LOVE this place. Very homely, but with such attention to detail. Breakfast is delicious. I always go for their full English, but there are other choices on the menu. If you can bear to leave your room, the hotel is on the historic city walls and within easy walking distance to the centre of this beautiful city. I would not stay anywhere else when visiting Chester. The hosts and staff are so friendly and welcoming . All in all, I love the Recorder House and would not hesitate to recommend it and look forward to my next visit, as always.

Mrs. Elizabeth Cotgreave - 15th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Friendly Hotel Full Of Character
A most delightful stay with views over the river and easy access to the shops. Appreciated the quiet and comfortable ambience and also the hospitality which was personal and friendly. Superb breakfasts!

Mrs. Pauline Stephenson - 14th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely B&b
Our stay at this B&B was very enjoyable. The rooms had everything we needed and were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and the hosts very friendly. This B & B is an ideal location to explore Chester and we would thoroughly recommend it to others.

Mrs. Julia Wilson - 11th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Charming
Lovely place to stay at and we were pampered by the hosts.

Mr. Yves Le Hors - 5th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Beautiful Place
Had a lovely stay, the Virgo room is beautiful :) used room service, food was lovely. Staff where polite and very helpful, would love to stay again and will recommend it to others. Thank you :))

Miss. Anita Snell - 3rd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Great Location
Beautiful setting. Wonderful hospitality.

Mrs. Claudia Devoto - 27th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely
Lovely breakfast. Really sweet rooms.

Mr. Linghao Kong - 17th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Ideal In Every Way
The people I dealt with at the Recorder House, mostly ie Debbie and Mikaela, were very helpful and obliging. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of all the city centre attractions and facilities, and the House itself is charming. I would absolutely recommend it and return again if I get the chance.

Mrs. Bronwyn Reid - 17th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Highly Recommend
Excellent location for seeing Chester just turn left out the front door and follow the wall be at the famous clock within 10 minutes - Nice Hosts - highly Recommend - Would use again

Mr. Ian Solly - 16th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful Hotel
we had a lovely time in chester and the hospitality at the recorder house was fantastic. nothing is to much trouble for the staff. we were made very welcome and upgraded to a river view room. we would recommend a stay here. location on the walls and the river.excellent.

Mrs. Beverley Whitehouse - 15th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful Stay
Gorgeous room overlooking the river. Great view,spacious room and beautiful furniture. Tasty breakfast. Parking was easy and great location. James and his wife were both knowledgeable and gracious hosts.

Mr. Bennett Friedman - 10th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Review Feedback
This is a great place to stay in a really good location for both the river and the main areas of Chester itself. Limited parking is available so I'd recommend checking ahead. If you're tall you may need to watch your head!
Good welcome and a fab breakfast - highly recommended.

Mrs. Gill Bruce - 9th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful
Recorder House is the ideal place for looking around Chester. Great location. Very convenient for all public transport links. Owners are extremely courteous. Breakfast is outstanding. Would highly recomend Recorder House.

Mrs. Caroline Fraser - 8th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House
We have stayed at Chester Recorder several times over the past ten years and have always found it very comfortable, convenient for the town centre and also the racecourse. We would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

Mrs. Sheila Hodgkinson - 8th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
We had an excellent stay at the recorder house. It is an excellent location for city centre and the racecourse only 5 minutes to both. We stayed in the aquarius room overlooking the river which was lovely the only criticism was the plug was in the wardrobe and when i plugged hairdryer in it didnt reach to the mirror. The breakfast was excellent and had 2 nights good sleep not a sound only the gentle lull of the river. Look forward to going back on our next visit to chester

Mrs. Debra Myers - 7th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Up To The Usual Standard!
This is the third time that I have stayed at the Recorder House, and it is still up to the very high standard I first encountered. From the warm welcome on arrival to a hearty farewell, we felt relaxed and welcome. Nice touches such as the tea-making facilities (including extra milk and water bottles in the fridge in a communal area)made our stay that bit more enjoyable. The bed was lovely and comfy and the view over the river was brilliant. We look forward to the next time we stay in Chester.

Mr. Paul Frost - 3rd Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
Lovely hotel, very friendly, helpful staff, very clean and excellent location. If revisit Chester would stay again and will recommend

Ms. Anne Griffiths - 3rd Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
Wonderful situation, friendly welcome, comfortable bed, good room, Great English breakfast. What more can you want.

Mr. J H Garrod - 1st Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Location
Lovely room. Breakfast plentiful. Parking not a problem. Friendly staff. The best advantage of this hotel is its location. 5 minutes from the city centre and beautiful views of the river. Would definitely recommend.

Mrs. Emma Greatbatch - 31st Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Superb
A very friendly and quiet place to stay.

Mr. Robert Scruton - 27th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Special Trip
this was our first visit to chester, recorder house was recommended to us for our two night stay.we were welcomed warmley and taken to our room and what a WOW factor it was! Absolutley amazing everything we imagened it would be.... BEAUTIFUL! breakafsts were lovely, made fresh and hot,coffee/tea and toast topped up for you, what more can we say...lovely people really looked after you and an amazing and beautiful place to stay, highly recommend recorder house and we will definatly be going back to stay

Mrs. Debbie Tupman - 22nd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

The Best
Great value; very welcoming and very comfortable. Situated on the Roman walls, beside the river, it is also within very easy walking distance of the City centre. The breakfast is superb....a good choice of healthy, delicious and good quality items. Highly recommended!

Mrs. Catherine Clark - 19th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Cannot Wait To Return.
The house and everything in it is beautiful,breakfast was excellent with lots of choice lovely and hot and served with a smile,tables for 2 were slightly small but the breakfast was so nice it was soon forgoten.The bed was very comfy with clean warm bedding and nice toiletries in the bathroom with large fluffy towels,lovely view of the river and parking at the rear,we cannot wait to go back.

Mrs. Catherine Mannion - 16th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Good Nights Sleep
Clean and tidy room, comfortable bed and a good night's sleep.

Mr. Terry Mcguckian - 10th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect Respite
Wonderful place to stay while visiting Chester. So convenient to everything. Beautiful surroundings, great breakfasts and very friendly and knowledgable staff. So nice to relax and enjoy a cup of tea in the afternoon.

Mr. David Stafford - 5th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House
I found this hotel by chance, searching for two nights bed and breakfast for our first visit to Chester.
What a find!! We both enjoyed our stay very much, friendly staff, lovely food and plenty of it. Our room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed.
It is located on the City Walls and is so convenient for all the tourist attractions. There is a great pub just around the corner too, The Albion, Jamie Oliver raves about this pub's food and we could see why!! The beer is not half bad either!!
We will be back again next year and will certainly stay here again.

Mrs. Denise Quail - 18th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Recorder House -
we had a lovely time at the recorder house. owners and staff could not do enough for you and are very friendly. accommadation facilities are really good and the room we stayed in was superb esspecially with the view of the river. location is excellent for chester facilities.would definitly stay again at the recorder house if in chester.
thanks for a lovely stay.

Mrs. Sue Edwards - 12th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect Location
We visited Recorder House for two nights over the Jubilee weekend.We could not have picked a better place to stay,everyone is so friendly the rooms are great and the breakfast is to die for. The fantastic location walking distance from the center of Chester is the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

Mr. Peter Hallworth - 7th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Great Rooms & Views
The Recorder House is a marvelously well run hotel. I booked two rooms because I was staying with friends and gave the bigger room to them. Both rooms were great value with marvelous views of the river. The breakfast was excellent. I've stayed at the Grosvenor in Chester and preferred the Recorder House.

Dr. Ian Gregson - 29th May, 2012
Verified Review

Our Thoughts
Pleasant hotel, fantastic location, great hosts,wonderful breakfast & lovely dog

Mrs. Sharon Farrow - 26th May, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend In Chester
I stayed with my Fiancee at recorder house, and neither of us can find a single fault with our stay. The location is great - central but also secluded - with a nice view, and our room was the smallest, but was a pleasure to be in. Breakfast was great, as was the tea and toast they brought us in our room after a heavy saturday night! We felt really welcome. 10/10

Mr. Christopher Vaughan - 21st May, 2012
Verified Review

Chester 7/5/12
Very pleasent stay. Room comfortable and with view of River Dee and weir. Ideal location for walking the walls and the Rows and seeing the sights of Chester. Excellent full English Breakfast. Pleasent and helpful staff.

Mr. Raymond Mills - 10th May, 2012
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House
This is a very comfortable, friendly place to stay and an ideal location. I will definitely stay here again.

Mrs. Valerie Bryant - 7th May, 2012
Verified Review

Recorder House
Our 2nd visit and certainly not our last. Breakfast amazing and cooked to order and what a choice! Lovely to be asked if we were being looked after rather than the more familiar"everything alright for you?". Lovely room and very comfy 6ft bed with super bedlinen. We felt so welcome as guests.

Mrs. Valerie Caunt - 29th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Good B&b
we had the pisces room on the top floor, on the small side but even smaller when you had to leave the cupboard door open to watch tv. i think the tv's would be better situated on the wall.also the floor was sloping which was making the bed slope so did not get the best of sleep.apart from that its in a great location,the hosts were excellent and the breakfast good also nice touches like fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge on the landing. would stay again when in chester and will recommend to friends.

Mrs. Lisa Greenall - 26th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
thank you for your comments - we now have a wall-mounted flat screen TV in that room demoting the cupboard to wardrobe use only - just one of a schedule of improvements currently being undertaken.

Super Hotel!
The Recorder proved to be a super find - the location was perfect, the staff very friendly and our room (Virgo) was beautiful, truly a room with a view! The breakfast provided was cooked to order (poached eggs perfect!)
Alternative food also available, fresh fruit salad etc. Well worth a stay!

Mr. Malcolm Rogers - 24th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Anne Pascoe
Excellent location, well appointed, lovely room, most comfortable bed led to a fantastic nights sleep.
The high standards continued with breakfast served by the hosts.
Will defiantly recomend!

Mrs. Anne Pascoe - 19th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Short Break In Chester
The chester recorder House is in a brilliant position with the added bonus of parking.
It has a lovely position on the river, very close to the centre . Rooms are clean comfortable and beautifully decorated.
We will definitely stay there again if we visit Chester

Mrs. Stella Dixon - 16th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely
Stayed for one night as a 30ty birthday treat with my husband. Fantastic location for river views and walking into centre. Stayed in Virgo room. Was so pretty and comfy, lots of personal touches like fresh milk & water. Free parking and breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend!!!

Mrs. Jenna Dunne - 12th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

A Great Bed And Breakfast
A great bb breakfast great room fantastic with great views no problems with parking which in chester is in short supply as they had their own car park being where the bb is u can leave your car and see chester by foot which is the best way to see all the sights.The owners were lovely could not do enough.If u want a bb with good rooms good food nice staff and a central location this is the one.

Mr. Gary Southall - 10th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Place !!
Enjoyable break in very nice hotel. James and Pat were excellent host's and the room was very nice, clean and tidy with all facilities you would expect. Centrally located for the City centre with everything within walking distance and we would centainly have no hesitation in staying there again, next time we visit Chester.

Mr. Paul Conway - 9th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

A Lovely Stay!
We had a great stay at Chester Recorder House. The owner - James - was very friendly, helpful and courteous. We were upgraded immediately to rooms overlooking the beautiful river. The rooms were smart, very comfortable and clean. This character property was ideally located to take advantage of the old city walls and plenty of lovely walks from the doorstep. The full English breakfast was of excellent quality and included black pudding - one of my particular favourites.

My son, wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Recorder House and would recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the wonderful city of Chester.

Mr. John Dray - 7th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House
As always couldn't be better. Welcome, comfort and breakfast top notch. Thank you.

Mrs. Georgina Lobb - 26th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

March 19th - 21st
Very enjoyable stay, friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the River. Ideally situated for exploring Chester. We would be more than happy to use Chester Recorder House again on a visit to Chester.

Mr. Michael Mccarrick - 25th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Exquisite
We have had a recent stay at this beautiful hotel in a stunning location, overlooking the riverside promenade in Chester, known as The Groves. We have stayed at The Recorder many times and have always been impressed with the rooms and the warm hospitality of the owners. The cooked breakfast is delicious and there is free parking if you travel by car. Five minutes walk takes you along the river and into the park or into the centre of the city. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and the front rooms all have exceptional views of the river, both by day and night. We cannot fault a thing and we certainly will continue to go back. Highly recommended.

Mrs. Elizabeth Cotgreave - 21st Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Mini Break
We had a most enjoyable stay and would strongly recommend it to anyone. We shall certainly be returning in the future.

Mrs. Sandra Scott-mullen - 16th Mar, 2012
Verified Review

Fantastic Location, Amazing Breakfast, Lovely Room
An amazing B&B where you start the day off with an amazing breakfast, enjoy a short walk into Chester, then relax at the end of the day in a lovely room with great views of the river and a comfortable bed to retire to.

Mr. Peter Stockdale - 26th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Very Pleasant Stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Recorder House. The large river view room was ideal & very comfortable. The breakfast was well cooked & we were always asked if we wanted more. The location is within comfortable walking distance of the city & the city walls run right outside the front door. All in all a most pleasant experiece, which we hope to repeat one day.

Mr. Terence Watkins - 20th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Feb Break
Great find at a very compatible price with free parking an invaluable asset. Service efficient but inobtrusive, friendly but not fussy staff, high quality breakfast food & cooking. Room warm, comfortable and quiet. All this and Chester Deeside River view too, what more could you ask !

Ms. Vicki England - 10th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Very Niice
This is a very nice place with excellent service and position

Mr. Kieron Hastings - 9th Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Happy Anniversary
Stayed for a weekend to celebrate our wedding aniversary and had a lovely time. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a lovely first floor room with views of the river. The food at breakfast was marvellous and the owners and staff a delight.

Mrs. Catherine Bannister - 31st Jan, 2012
Verified Review

Comfortable And Relaxing
Web site promises much and our visit did not disappoint. We were looking for somewhere comfortable within easy reach of shops and city walls. Location met these criteria very well. We received a warm welcome and the room was very comfortable and fitted out to a high standard. Breakfast was excellent and the family very friendly. Will definitely book again next time we want an overnight stay in Chester city centre.

Mr. Tim Knight - 13th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

Anniversary Stay
We have stayed at The Recorder House several times now and have never been disappointed. There is always a warm welcome , the rooms are full of character with very comfortable beds, and the breakfast is delicious and freshly prepared. In fact a stay there is now a necessity in the run up to Christmas! A real find ,and perfectly positioned on the city walls.

Mr. David Thompson - 12th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

November 2011
Lovely old-fashioned hotel. Very good and friendly service. Nice Rooms. Good Breakfast. Well located near the city centre.

Mr. Axel Rohrschneider - 24th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Nice Place
Hello
I really enjoy James during my arrival. A typical old house from Chester whith all the history inside your room. The breakfast was also really nice served and always very polite.
I really enjoy my trip in Chester.
PS for James: I took a look on "Peter LEMBKE" restaurant in Hamburg. There is no Website but I will have a look this week end. I keep you in touch.

Mr. Cyrille Dehon - 24th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Home From Home -almost
Well looked after, friendly and helpful owners and staff. Book well in advance to get front facing rooms with views over river.Another good point they environmental policy znd thus give discount if you arrive in Chester by train or public transport. We reccomend

Mr. Leon Cleverley - 23rd Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Two Friends Staying For Shopping Trip
good stay excellent service, good breakfast friendly and very helpful. would stay again. only downside the bathroom was very small. bedding crisp and clean no complaints.

Mrs. SHEILA JOHNSON - 23rd Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent B&b
It was very nice to stay with you - all in all a wonderful place. I hope I can afford to stay there again, and have coffee in the garden with the cat.

Ms. Linda Barone - 20th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Wonderful Weekend
We had a lovely stay at The Recorder, very old and quirky, once I got acclimatised to the sloping floor in our room all was good. The full english breakfast was scrumptious. The position of the house is ideal, easy walking along the city wall to the shops, restaurants. Had a lovely 2 night stay and will recommend to friends coming to Chester. Thank you.

Mr. John Cook - 14th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House Feedback
A fantastic hotel in a fantastic location looking over the River and a short to Chester's shops, restaurnts and hostrouicvla centre. Great to have such convenient parking, super room, great breakfast and wonderful hospitality. We will return without a doubt.

Mr. Roger Murray - 7th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Place
In the room we had (Virgo) the floors sloped and everything creaked - and we loved it. Lovely view from the enormous window, comfortable (if creaky) bed, a room full of character and interesting furniture. Excellent hosts and a great breakfast. We would recommend it to all our friends.

Mr. Keith Morris - 6th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
We stayed in the Capricorn room, Lovely room at top of hotel with view over river.
Very comfortable bed, plenty of space in room with small settee an 2 chairs.
En-suite good with bath and shower over but ceiling a bit low 6'2" approx.
Beautiful breakfast very good hosts, will stay again when near Chester

Mr. Richard Pratt - 5th Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Comfy Retreat
Very enjoyable stay - the room was very comfortable and very convenient for the city centre - it was also very quite which I valued. All in all I was extremely pleaed to have stayed here

Mrs. Mandy Lynch - 29th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect Chester Hotel
The hotel was extremely comfortable and the room had a fantastic view of the river. We were looked after really well during our two nights. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Mr. Stephen Haines - 28th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House'
This is the third time we have stayed at Recorder House. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast. All round a top place which I would happily recommend.

Mr. Ian R. Faulkner - 24th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Warm Hospitality
We stayed at Chester Recorder House for 2 nights in October 2011. Great location beside the River Dee. Our room at the rear was quaint, large, clean, and well fitted out. Pat and James were great hosts and provided a lovely breakfast as well.

Mr. Gerard Conway - 24th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

I Like It
The host are friendly, breakfast is great. The river view is beautiful.

Ms. Ling Chin Kao - 9th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Great Nights Sleep
Lovely stay, definitely would consider again next time in Chester. Lovely room, river view, slept really well to gentle sound of river and very comfortable bed. Owner and staff very friendly, thank you all.

Mrs. Melanie Jane Quayle - 9th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Guesthouse
This is a lovely guesthouse. In a fantastic location. It deserves its 4 Stars.The owners were so helpful. We went on a recommendation and were very happy.

Mrs. Mary Sullivan - 4th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Unique And Delightful
Unique, delighful, old building. Owner-run hotel with great character and lovely views over the river. Very friendly owner who cooks a good breakfast.

Mr. Desmond Mottram - 3rd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Very Nice
This b&b has charm, comfortable rooms and friendly people who run it, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Ideally situated in central Chester by the riverside within walking distance of all the attractions

Mr. Ian Pringle - 3rd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Chester Recorder House
A nice friendly hotel in a unique location. Warm comfortable room, good breakfast and welcoming proprietors. Highly recommended

Mr. David Barr - 29th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

My Stay Sept.26-28 2011
Dear James
Your and your wife's hospitality was just what I like very much: personal contact, a warm friendship and an imaginative cuisine.
Thank you again for your service!
Juerg

Mr. Jurg Streit - 29th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Recommended!
Perfect location, and the best night's sleep I've had in years away from home - really quiet, proper curtains and an amazingly comfy bed - plus an excellent breakfast.

Ms. Victoria Phillips - 27th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

A Gem
A quaint, quiet, gem of a hotel with lovely comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfasts. Incredible value for money.

Mrs. Deborah Sappe - 26th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Well Done
a pleasure to stay once again at the recorder,if it aint broke dont fix it - and things just seem to run as a well oiled machine - nothing to much trouble and they know how to make you welcome - a little bit of a misunderstanding regarding booking online as I thought we had paid weeks before our visit but apparantly monies are not taken until you leave and present your card and sign - a little bit embarrasing but no matter - thanks again.

Mr. Robert Jenkinson - 25th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Fine Hotel
We had a very pleasant stay in the hotel and the service was excellent. The views over and the sound of the river were also pleasing

Mr. David Smith - 20th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Great Location
James, his wife and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The location 'on the wall' was excellent, and the modern facilities have been sympathetically squeezed into an historic old building. Would recommend to others, and we would stay there again.

Mr. Peter Sibley - 16th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Fabulous!
My husband and I have just enjoyed a fabulous weekend break in Chester. Our stay at the Recorder House started with a warm welcome and very useful map of the city. Our four poster bed was very comfortable as was the room in general. Finally, we had the best cooked breakfasts we have ever enjoyed. Beautifully presented with all the right ingredients. Thank you for helping to make our weekend fabulous.

Mrs. Amanda Jones - 13th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

We Found A 'gem'
We fully enjoyed our stay. We were warmly welcomed and well informed about exploring Chester. The small rear garden is charming. A longer flex on the kettle would be the only improvement we would recommend.

Mr. Dennis Hudson - 10th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Autumn Stay
A superb location with immediate access to the wall walk and views of the river from our window. The welcome was warm and our hosts were friendly and more than helpful. The only drawback was that the plumbing in our room [Aries]needs a bit of attention! I tried to put four and a half stars but it would only register four - sorry about that. Our room was attractive and very comfortable

Mr. Ian Mason - 8th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Character With Comfort.
We loved the crooked beams and picture lined, winding stairs.
Retreat close enough to the centre to pop back for a rest!
Great outlook; Sat in our room with a cup of tea looking over the weir and the Groves.

Mr. Will Aucott - 29th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent First Time In Chester
We've been looking to visit Chester for some time. We normally stay in the large chain hotels, either budget eg Premier Lodge or Raddisson/Crowne Plaza etc. The Trip Adviser reviews on all the larger hotels for Chester just always seemed to have something wrong with them. We have never done B and B, but I stumbled upon the Recorder, where nearly every review was positive, and they were spot on. It's got car parking right in the centre of town, on the city wall, next to the river, about 10 pubs within 100 yards!!!! Wonderful personal attention, superb breakfast, cosy rooms although our a little cramped but so what. All the bathroom extra's. We will definitely be back sometime soon.

Mr. Keith Benton - 15th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Situation
warm welcome,room comfortable,good food and easy walk to the centre

Dr. Jennifer Frow - 9th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Relaxing Break
Very friendly hosts,who welcomed us and gave excellent local knowledge. The house is beautifully positioned on the walls and just a few minutes walk into town. Very spacious first floor room with fantastic views of the river. Superb breakfast to set you up for the day. We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Mr. Kevin Tuck - 9th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Recorder House
Just returned from a two day break. We were glad we chose the accommodation. The location was excellent 2 minutes out one door and at the river. Go out the other door and five miutes and you ar in the city centre. The room (Leo)was lovely as was the breakfasts. The fridge with bottled water on the 1st fllor was also a nice touch. First time in Chester and if we go back again will definately try to get booked in Recorder House. Isabel Fallan August 2011

Mrs. Isabel Falllan - 8th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Love It!
great location for shops sight seeing etc, lovely friendly couple & rooms with character-perfect for our needs-valued free car parking

Roger King - 5th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Love It!
great location for shops sight seeing etc, lovely friendly couple & rooms with character-perfect for our needs-valued free car parking

Roger King - 5th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent Location & Breakfast
Enjoyed my 2 night stay at the Recorder House Hotel, room clean and comfortable with a 4 poster bed & sofa & en suite!

Excellent location at a character hotel, my stay wS for a wedding in Chester but the location is 5 minutes walk from the town centre & overlooks the river so is ideal for any stay.

They catered for my wheat free diet & the breakfast selection was excellent from fruit, yoghurt, cereal & a full cooked breakfast or tailored to your requirements. 10 % off first nights stay as travelled by train which was a nice surprise also.

I would stay there again should I need to ; )

Miss. Margaret Kangley - 5th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Great Location
Lovely place with big comfortable bed and delicious breakfast.

Miss. Elizabeth Jackson - 4th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Chester Revisited
You couldn't wish for a better location, views to die for and only a short walk to great shops, restaurants and bars. Our room had a huge bed which was very comfortable. Room was very tired and dusty which spoilt the experience. Breakfast was adequate but I've had better. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and lovely cat and dog.

Mr. Christopher Sands - 2nd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Recorder House
We really enjoyed our night at the Recorder House. The en-suite bedroom,Aquarius, was lovely. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were friendly. We couldn't have asked for more. We hope to visit them again.

Mrs. Ann Caddens - 29th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

A Hidden Gem
So pleased we found this lovely old house. The whole experience of staying at the Recorder -the comfortable bed, excellent food, friendly charming people, was so good we are booked in again in September.

Mrs. Valerie Day - 25th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect
Great location, comfortable rooms, very very good breakfast and very friendly staff all in all not much more to say....PERFERCT !!

Ms. Margaret Kelly - 25th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

We Had A Great If Not Short Stay
We had a great stay with two very comfortable rooms, a great breakfast,(even the blood pudding) and a nice quiet sleep with the windows open.

Sorry my 9 year old confused your dog a bit :)

It was a little hard for us to find as google or a GPS does not quite find it so just ensure you have good directions.

Would recommend to friends for a stay in Chester.

Mr. William Moysiuk - 24th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Great Place!
By far the best bed and breakfast we stayed at during our vacation to the UK. Owners were very courtious and helpful and the location was phenomenal. The back door opens out onto the city walls, which connects to most of the top sites in Chester... We would stay here again for sure!

Mr. Clifford Cochran - 21st Jul, 2011
Verified Review

History, Charm, And Great Location
I loved the old-time charm of my room with its history, river view, and location right on the city walls.

Ms. Karen Sprinkle - 12th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Chester Rocks
we realy enjoyed out stay the staff are very friendly the breakfast was nice and you had a good choice . we stayed in the libra room over looking the river only 1 fault be it little the carpet could of done with a good hoovering but all in all a great hotel will be calling again on our next stay in chester

Mr. Keith Taylor - 11th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Virgo Victorian Comfort
We enjoyed our stay at Historic Recorder House , The veiw from bay window superb on a lovely sunny morning very peaceful setting great if you have your breakfast served in your room , bed was the biggest most comfortable I,ve ever slept in , The hosts very friendly & welcoming nothing seemed to much trouble Car parking very convenient especially in a city centre . Shame about no dressing table facilities for the ladies

Mr. Terence Hardie - 6th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay
Stayed ar recorder house in June 2011 ;lovely hotel very friendly staff, food excellent and super location not only that chester is a great place to visit wife and I had a great time

Thanks

Mr. Paul Gregory - 3rd Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect For Chester
We stayed at the Recorder House in early June and had a wonderful time. The position is perfect for visiting the city of Chester. We had river view four poster room which we enjoyed thoroughly. Wonderful view of the river and the historic roman walls. Would stay again if visiting the area. Thanks James for your wonderful service.

Leanne Jeffery & Don Maguire - 30th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent Stay! Wonderful Hotel!
We stayed in the Gemini Room for 2 days in the middle of June. Room was clean and fixtures and fitting were all in keeping with the wonderful surroundings and time period of the building. Breakfast was truly amazing. Cooked to perfection, quick with no fuss. Hotel owners were knowledgeable of the local area and had some useful tips. Excellent value for money. Would definately stay here again in the future. Thank you Chester Recorder House Hotel

Miss. Lyndsay Mcphee - 30th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Great B&b
This B&B is in a great location with its front door opening on the Wall around the city. Despite that, parking is available behind the B&B. Our well furnished room had a four poster bed with a view over the Dee River. As well as the normally great breakfast, I was offered (and appreciated) an extremely tasty mustard/dill sauce for smoked salmon. It is a B&B we can recommend very strongly.

Mr. Larry Springford - 21st Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Superb Vacation-thanks!
What a joy it was to be a guest at your hotel from May 22-26. Thank you for letting us come in a day earlier than our original reservation, you were a life-saver! I can honestly say staying with you was a first class experience--the breakfasts,the location
and your genuine caring for your guests comfort and enjoyment of Chester. Walking out the back door and being on the wall was a great way to start each day. Our best wishes to all of you; I hope we see you again. I MISS THE GREAT BREAKFASTS!!!!
Cheers, Fred and Jean Donham

Mrs. Lorraine Donham - 11th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Charming B&b On The River Dee
A welcoming staff, delicious and hearty breakfasts, beautifully furnished rooms and central location all contribute to make this charming B&B one to which I'd love to return on subsequent visits to Chester.

Mr. Steven Ferrer Padilla - 11th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

A Terrific Experience
We had a brilliant two nights' stay. Our rooms were really comfortable; beds were excellent and the views fab. Breakfasts were excellent and our hosts were helpful; we loved their dry sense of humour!

Mrs. Margaret Aust - 8th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

The Place To Be
Our recent two night stay at The Recorder House was top class. The location on the wall, overlooking the River Dee could not be better. The four poster bed and bedroom were very comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best we have ever had in a hotel or B&B! Just beware to set your GPS as the hosts instruct and NOT to use the hotel's official zipcode. Thanks for a greate stay.

Mr. Robin Swale - 5th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Good Stay
Lovely house in a lovely setting and breakfasts are brill

Mr. David Steele - 5th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Good But Could Benefit From Attention To Detail
On the whole we did enjoy our stay at the Recorder House in Chester. Minor irritating issues were the lighting in our bathroom, very dim, and dark. The four poster was wide and deep but very, very creaky!
The owners/staff never introduced themselves therefore unaware of who was who.
House with great ambience but in need of TLC, for £100 a night did expect white fluffy towels - ours were rather old and grubby. Windows were screwed down so could not open them for fresh air and the room became unbearably hot because the heating was still on.
Great location and the views from our bedroom window were of the river and the walls, very good.
The cooked breakfast was good along with the fresh fruit and yoghurt but portion control of the one slice of toast each, very small pots of marmalade and jam, one sliver of butter each and coffee meant we did not like to ask if there were more available, and we are not great big greedy eaters.

Mr. Paul Roberts - 4th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Best Position
The position of the Recorder House is second to none. You can access the River, the Walls and the City centre within minutes. For a central place to stay, this is it. Pleasant room, nice breakfast but best of all... the position!

Mr. Keith Apperley - 1st Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent
We stayed a room "Capricorn" in Chester Recorder House and were impressed by stunning river view from our room. We really loved the traditional and well decorated room. English breakfast was hot and very tasty. We would like to visit it again as soon as possible! Thank you for your warm welcome and hospitality.

Mr. Jun Yoshino - 1st Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely!
We stayed in the Pisces room on the top floor. From online reviews we knew to expect a small room albeit with loads of character. Fine for 3 or 4 nights but may have become claustrophobic for a week or more! However, fantastic location, lots of local pubs and places to eat (try the Brewery Tap just 100 yards away on Lower Bridge Street, beer was superb and so was the food!). The hotel does exactly what it says on the tin, very helpful service, bed was comfy, room always clean & tidy and no problem with getting a table for the lovely breakfast (think it's fine as long as everyone doesn't turn up at once!). Newspapers and free water were bonuses. We also got a parking space which was very handy (but best check availability as they were all occupied when we left). All-in-all, an excellent weekend and we're very glad we chose the Recorder house over Premier Inn. Thankyou.

Mr. Paul Bush - 31st May, 2011
Verified Review

B&b
Beautiful room and B&B. Good breakfast. Hosts very nice and helpful.

Miss. Lisa Kornely - 31st May, 2011
Verified Review

Weekend Stay, 20th May 2011
This was our second time staying here the owners are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent.Its ideal location to town centre only 3 mins walk, rooms could do with a bit up dating but wouldnt stop us staying there again. Theres a free carpark but would advise to check in early as there is only about 6 parking places. We will book again later this year.

Mr. Shaun Davies - 28th May, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent In Every Way
Lovely location and historic house with comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts and adjacent parking. Helpful and friendly staff.

Ms. Hilary Clarke - 27th May, 2011
Verified Review

Would Recommend
Excellent location for city centre and river views. Rooms clean and comfortable and made to feel welcome. Would definately stay again

Mrs. Kim Bogunovic - 16th May, 2011
Verified Review

Thank You!
Lovely room with a beautiful view, delicious breakfast and friendly people. Thanks!

Miss. Karen Quigley - 13th May, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
thankyou for your hospitality. I have stayed in many b+b's in the UK, and this was a very memorable and exceptional stay. Bath was fabulous, breakfast choices first class and very friendly operators. River view a bonus. Thankyou!

Miss. Heidi Muenchberger - 12th May, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent B&b
We stayed here for 2 nights end of april, and having read the reviews were not disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very friendly.Room was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts among the best we have had, with a very good variety of cereal fresh fruit etc, and the cooked breakfasts done to your liking. It made a pleasant change not to have pre packed butter and preserves. The location was spot on and i would recommend this hotel to family and friends, would we stay again you bet we would.

Mrs. Susan Jackson - 3rd May, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay
The location is excellent and our river view room was well apointed and comfortable. The breakfast and service were exemplary. We will be back!

Mr. Brian Oldman - 26th Apr, 2011
Verified Review

 

Home | 360 Virtual Tour | Hotel Pictures | Hotel Room Pictures | Breakfast Menu | Tariff | Secure Bookings | Contact Us | How to Find Us | Links | Sitemap

© Copyright 2007 Chester Recorder House | Website Powered by Queensborough Group | Chester Recorder House